In the rain


P1040254

When I was a child
I loved to play
in the summer rain
running, jumping
splashing, singing
I would play
imaginary games
with hordes of
make believe friends
and sometimes
with real ones.

As I grew older
just out of my teens
I no longer played,
but I still loved
walking in the rain
sometimes alone
sometimes with a
special someone
those memories
still make me
incandescently happy.

And now I’m
somewhere in between
being a lot older but
not quite old enough
I don’t dance or play
in the rain anymore
or even walk hand in hand
with that special someone.
But the rain remains
special to me.

Now I sit at the window
side by side with
that special someone
snuggling under
a single blanket
books in hand
a cup of tea for me
a happy smile for him
and the magic
that is in the rain
continues.

Leave a Reply

