Endings


20130406-110007.jpg

I look at the workers
Next door
Hammers and saws at work
They are bringing down
The house I lived next to
The trees I grew up with
The pink bougainvillea
Which sprouted in profusion
Outside my bedroom window
This was the house
Where I made my first friend
The house where my
First crush lived
And so it happens
That along with the bricks
And mortar
Along with the grass and trees
I must say goodbye
To the squirrels running
through the grass
The birds chirping
in the trees
But most of all
I have to say goodbye
To years and years
Of childhood memories.

Leave a Reply

