Melancholy


20130331-224358.jpg


A strange
melancholy feeling
flutters
in and around me
as I look at
these two people
who have
given me
the happiest
most secure
childhood
ever
And even now
as a grown up
the deep belief
that a safety net
always lies
beneath me.
I see how frail
they look
Their movements
just a little bit
slower
tentative
Their daily life
just a little bit
harder
to get through.
And I close
my eyes
shaken to the core
Not wanting
to believe
Finding it
so hard to accept
this new reality
Wishing
I could turn back time
for them
and just a little bit
for me.
The feelings
spill over
and
the emotions
I can’t contain
come pouring out
in shiny
diamond
teardrops.

4 comments

  1. shrutisharma · April 1, 2013

    Dil ki baat keh di, Rush. Powerful writing.

  2. Rashmi · April 1, 2013

    Thanks Shruti. Sadly, we can all relate to this, can’t we?

  3. Tracey Brownrigg · April 1, 2013

    You made me cry……

    • Rashmi · April 1, 2013

      Was pretty teary when I wrote this one Tracey…

Leave a Reply

