Going home


P1010480

A few more hours
before I fly home.
And isn’t it strange
that even now
years after I’ve moved out
mom and dad’s house
is still the first place

I call home?

A lot has changed
in that house
And a lot more
has changed
within me
But what doesn’t change
are old
childhood memories.

Homework, exams,
College apps
Future plans
Crushes
Heartbreak
Love and laughter
Ever present dreams
of happily ever afters.

And as I walk
through that familiar
white door,
those old sights,
sounds, and smells
surround me.
And I yell out loud
“Mom I’m home!”

Leave a Reply

