Song


P1000806

A song plays
In my ears
Mine alone
I lose myself
in magical words
and musical notes

In that moment
I become someone else
A young girl
crushing on the boy next door
A woman thanking
her vulnerable man
A phantoms protege
destined to shine on stage

And as I sing these words
Their life becomes mine
their feelings belong to me
And I am
in turn
overwhelmed
infatuated
heartbroken
ecstatic
angry, hurt, devastated

Then
the song ends
The last note dies out
And once again
I become I
Wife, mother,
best friend, daughter

But somewhere
deep inside
a part of that song
remains with me,
Adding more colors
to my life
making me
complete.

Leave a Reply

